Cub Scouts Achievement Pathways - Badges and Awards

Outdoor Adventure Skills for Cub Scouts

The Outdoor Adventure Skills framework promotes youth members’ exploration of, and progression through key outdoor pursuits. Designed for all ages and abilities, the Outdoor Adventure Skills reinforce what Scouting is well known for, and compliments other personal progression opportunities provided by Scouting.

Cub Scouts aren't required to finish any Outdoor Adventure Skills Stages however if they want to achieve their Grey Wolf Award Award they will need to: 

  • Achieve Stage 3 in each of the 3 Core Areas and
  • Achieve 8 Stage progressions (in total) across any of the skills. 

Core Areas and Specialist Areas

This innovative framework has 9 broad category streams with 9 developmental stages within each stream, 23 activity streams in total which our youth members are encouraged to explore.

The 2 broad category streams are: -

Core Areas: - 3 Areas - Bushcraft, Bushwalking and Camping (Camp Site Programs, Patrol Activity Camps)

Specialist Areas: - 6 Areas - Aquatic, Alpine, Boating, Cycling, Paddling and Vertical (Abseiling, Caving, Rock Climbing)

For further information, Outdoor Adventure Skills FAQs and Resources, visit the Outdoor Adventure Skills webpage.

For placement of the Outdoor Adventure Skills badges on the Scout Uniform refer to Uniform and Badge Placement - Achievement Pathways.

Outdoor Adventure Skills - Core Areas

Bushcraft, Bushwalking and Camping are the 3 Core Outdoor Adventure Skills categories readily available to all Cub Scouts, no matter where they live.

Bushcraft - Stage 4 Streaming: Pioneering, Survival Skills.


             Bushcraft                              Bushwalking                                Camping                                                                                                                                           (Camp Site Programs,                                                                                                                           Patrol Activity Camps)

  Outdoor Adventure Skills - Specialist Areas

Aquatics, Alpine, Boating, Cycling, Paddling and Vertical are the 6 Specialist Areas.  Cubs have the opportunity to select which activities they wish to do, and may start a new interest in any of these areas at any time in their Scouting journey.

Each of the 6 Specialist Areas have multiple streams, separating at Stage 4 and/or Stage 7, in order to develop higher-level tailored skills.

The multiple streams include:

Aquatic - Stage 4 Steaming: Surf Life-saving, Snorkelling, Surfing.

                  Stage 7 Streaming: SCUBA, Swift Water Rescue.

Alpine - Stage 4 Streaming: Cross Country Skiing, Snowshoeing and Camping, Downhill                        Skiing, Snowboarding.                   

Boating - Stage 4 Streaming: Sailing, Windsurfing.

Cycling - Stage 4 Streaming: Cycle Touring, Mountain Biking.

Paddling - Stage 4 Streaming: Canoeing, Kayaking, Sea Kayaking. 

                    Stage 7 Streaming: White Water Canoeing, White Water Rafting, White Water                        Kayaking.

Vertical - Stage 4 Streaming: Abseiling, Caving, Canyoning, Climbing.


             Aquatic                                      Alpine                                         Boating


             Cycling                                    Paddling                                 Vertical (Abseiling,                                                                                                                           Caving, Rock Climbing)

Share page

Outdoor Adventure Skills for Cub Scouts Enquiry

If you've got a question about the Outdoor Adventure Skills for Cub Scouts, shoot us a message here.

Thanks for contacting us! We will get back to you shortly.
Unable to submit request. Please try again.