Scouts Achievement Pathways - Badges and Awards

Outdoor Adventure Skills for Scouts

The Outdoor Adventure Skills framework promotes youth members’ exploration of, and progression through key outdoor pursuits. Designed for all ages and abilities, the Outdoor Adventure Skills reinforce what Scouting is well known for, and compliments other personal progression opportunities provided by Scouting.

Scouts aren't required to finish any Outdoor Adventure Skills Stages however if they want to achieve their Australian Scout Award they will need to:

  • Achieve Stage 5 in each of the 3 Core Areas and
  • Achieve 10 Stage progressions (in total) across any of the skills. 

Assessment Method and Role of Leaders

A fundamental principle of the Outdoor Adventure Skills is the two‐down assessment method where a youth member’s progression is supported and assessed by another youth member with higher skill levels of at least two stages higher.

For example, a youth member seeking to progress to Bushwalking Stage 5 would be assessed by a youth member holding Bushwalking Stage 7 or higher. This approach also builds the leadership skills of the youth members who are supporting and assessing other youth members.

It is recognised, however, that a youth member with the two stages higher skills may not always be available and that Leaders and Subject Matter Experts may need to assist youth members to build their skills and progress through the stages.

There are two parts to this: -
Mentoring: where the Leader or Subject Matter Expert provides support including skills instruction, guidance on conducting activities and feedback on areas to work on.
Assessing Stage Progression: where the Leader or Subject Matter Expert assesses the youth member’s progression against the ‘I’ statements in each stage.

It is important to note that the Leader or Subject Matter Expert does not sign‐off a Scout's stage completion: that is the Unit Council’s role.

Additionally, the NAAF Appendix 1 - Qualification Level for OAS Support table shows the minimum level of qualification required for a Leader to support each Outdoor Adventurous Skills Activity and stage, where youth member two up sign off is not available.

Core Areas and Specialist Areas

This innovative framework has 9 broad category streams with 9 developmental stages within each stream, 23 activity streams in total which our youth members are encouraged to explore.

The 2 broad category streams are: -

Core Areas: - 3 Areas - Bushcraft, Bushwalking and Camping (Camp Site Programs, Patrol Activity Camps)

Specialist Areas: - 6 Areas - Aquatic, Alpine, Boating, Cycling, Paddling and Vertical (Abseiling, Caving, Rock Climbing)

For further information, Outdoor Adventure Skills FAQs and Resources, visit the Outdoor Adventure Skills webpage.

For placement of the Outdoor Adventure Skills badges on the Scout Uniform refer to Uniform and Badge Placement - Achievement Pathways.

Outdoor Adventure Skills - Core Areas

Bushcraft, Bushwalking and Camping are the 3 Core Outdoor Adventure Skills categories readily available to all Scouts, no matter where they live.

Bushcraft - Stage 4 Streaming: Pioneering, Survival Skills.


             Bushcraft                              Bushwalking                                Camping                                                                                                                                           (Camp Site Programs,                                                                                                                           Patrol Activity Camps)

  Outdoor Adventure Skills - Specialist Areas

Aquatics, Alpine, Boating, Cycling, Paddling and Vertical are the 6 Specialist Areas.  Scouts have the opportunity to select which activities they wish to do, and may start a new interest in any of these areas at any time in their Scouting journey.

Each of the 6 Specialist Areas have multiple streams, separating at Stage 4 and/or Stage 7, in order to develop higher-level tailored skills.

The multiple streams include:

Aquatic - Stage 4 Steaming: Surf Life-saving, Snorkelling, Surfing.

                  Stage 7 Streaming: SCUBA, Swift Water Rescue.

Alpine - Stage 4 Streaming: Cross Country Skiing, Snowshoeing and Camping, Downhill                        Skiing, Snowboarding.                   

Boating - Stage 4 Streaming: Sailing, Windsurfing.

Cycling - Stage 4 Streaming: Cycle Touring, Mountain Biking.

Paddling - Stage 4 Streaming: Canoeing, Kayaking, Sea Kayaking. 

                    Stage 7 Streaming: White Water Canoeing, White Water Rafting, White Water                        Kayaking.

Vertical - Stage 4 Streaming: Abseiling, Caving, Canyoning, Climbing.


             Aquatic                                      Alpine                                         Boating


             Cycling                                    Paddling                                 Vertical (Abseiling,                                                                                                                           Caving, Rock Climbing)

Share page

Outdoor Adventure Skills for Scouts Enquiry

If you've got a question about the Outdoor Adventure Skills for Scouts, shoot us a message here.

Thanks for contacting us! We will get back to you shortly.
Unable to submit request. Please try again.