Scouts Achievement Pathways - Badges and Awards

Special Interest Areas

Special Interest Areas

Special Interest Areas projects encourage Scouts to try new things or activities that specifically interest them. There are 6 broad skill areas that Scouts can choose to explore and each Scout will set their own goals, enabling them to design a project that interests and challenges them personally. 

If a Scout wants to achieve their Australian Scout Award, they will need to complete 6 Special Interest Area projects across two of the skill areas.

Each Special Interest Area should take about 8 hours effort to complete, including the Planning>, Doing> and Reviewing>. Scouts can achieve multiple projects in a specific Special Interest Area.

The Unit Council will approve a Scout's Special Interest Area project proposal and upon completion to award the Special Interest Area badge.

The Special Interest Areas are: -

       Creating a Better World                  Arts & Literature                  Growth & Development


              Environment                           STEM & Innovation                    Adventure & Sport

Visit the Special Interest Area webpage for FAQs, Project Resources and Special Interest Area Experts.


Share page

General Enquiry

If you've got a question for Scouts Victoria, shoot us a message here.

Thank you for your enquiry. A Scouts Victoria representative will be in touch with you shortly.
Unable to submit request. Please try again.