Queen's Birthday Honours

We are thrilled to see several of our members honoured in the Queen’s Birthday awards!

Congratulations on being recognised with an OAM to:

  • Olive Elston, District Commissioner of Cardinia District (and former DC of Toomuc, and Group Leader of Pakenham and Koo Wee Rup Scout Groups).
  • The late Max Grubb, Honorary Commissioner, former District Commissioner of McDonald District, and Section Leader since 1952.
  • Margaret Keech, Group Leader of 1st Strathsfieldaye (and for a huge range of other service to Bendigo including chairing the Bendigo Academy of Sport, managing the Forever Young Rock Choir, President of Girton Grammar School parents and friends association, member of the Central Victorian Rural Women's Network, and member of a dragon boat team!)

Great to see some former members among the awardees too, including:

  • George Miller - Scout Leader and Group Leader at 1st Yarra Glen from 1977-92, he was instrumental in the building of the Scout hall at George Miller Reserve, and continued to mow the grass and look after the grounds for many years afterwards.
  • Anthony James McAleer - former President of Mount Evelyn Scout Group
  • The late Kenneth Sidney Missen - a Leader for 10 years and president for three years at Melton Scout Group

Share page