Congratulations to our Australia Day awardees

Each year we continue to be impressed by, and proud of, the recognition our members receive on Australia Day. The following members were awarded Member of the Order of Australia or received a Medal of the Order or Australia:

The AM (Member of the Order of Australia) has been awarded to John de Wijn QC for significant service to youth through Scouts and to taxation law. Currently Scouts Australia vice-president, John was chair of Scout Victoria’s Branch Executive Committee for six years, and Group Leader at Baden Powell Park and a Scout Leader at Dandenong. John has also given considerable assistance to Scouts Australia with the Royal Commission and redress scheme. We are very fortunate to have his skills available to us.

Victorians honoured with the OAM (Medal of the Order of Australia) include:

  • the late Beryl Bassett who gave 60 years’ service to Alpine Gateway, Goulburn Murray, Northern Region and other formations
  • Marge Currie, originally a Cub Leader at Lockington, who has since given 50 exceptional years to Boroondara District in many roles, from ACSL to DC 
  • Geoff Hudson of Whitehorse District, the founder of Scout Adventure Racing
  • Mark Hunter, Scout Leader of 1st Lang Lang
  • Sonya Loader, Group Leader of 1st Ranelagh
  • Kel McMeeken, for service including 1st Eaglemont, Yarra Valley Region, Hoadley Hide, and Scout Heritage

Also honoured with the AM were Graham Coates, former President of Scouts SA, and Graeme Stickland, former Chief Commissioner of WA, currently Group Leader of the Padbury Scout Group since 2000.

Many members - young and old - were also honoured for their contribution to their local community. They include:

  • 1st Cockatoo Scout Kaiden Rech-Ellery is Cockatoo’s Young Citizen of the Year
  • 1st Cockatoo Group Leader Kirra Kruzikevic is Cockatoo's Citizen of the Year and was also nominated along with Assistant Scout Leader Ian Pinney for Cardinia Shire’s Citizen of the Year
  • 1st Beaconsfield Rover and AJSL Meaghan Venables is Cardinia Shire’s Young Citizen of the Year
  • Former 1st Koo Wee Rup Group Leader (and Cardinia District Leader – Cub Scouts) June Wright OAM is Cardinia’s Senior Citizen of the Year
  • 1st Echuca Venturer Daniel Phyland was both Echuca and Campaspe Shire’s Young Citizen of the Year
  • Wangaratta Scout Abbigail Berry was named Local Young Achiever of the Year by Wangaratta Rural City on behalf of the Glenrowan community
  • 1st Traralgon Venturer Oscar Ewen was named Churchill Young Citizen of the Year
  • 1st Yarrawonga Rover Adam Morley was named Moira Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • 3rd Wodonga’s ACSL Sheldon Smith is Wodonga’s Young Citizen of the Year
  • Warrandyte Group Leader Chris Padgham presented Menzies Community Award
  • 3rd Wodonga Scout Group is Wodonga’s Community Organisation of the Year – congratulations to GL Chris Pollard and all the team

We proudly congratulate all these worthy awardees and gratefully acknowledge their service to Scouting.

Do you know of any other Scout members who were acknowledged on Australia Day? Please email us at and we will update this list.

Share page