Congratulations to our Australia Day 2024 award recipients!

Across Australia, a select group of Scouting people were named in the Australia Day 2024 Honours list. We congratulate the following Scouting members who were honoured today for their service to Scouting and the community.

The following member was recognised with AO - Officer of the Order of Australia:

  • The Honourable John McKechnie KC, Former Chair – Scouts Western Australia

The following members were recognised with AM - Member of the Order of Australia:

  • Heather Stringer, Honorary Commissioner – Scouts Victoria
  • Her Honour Chief Judge Elizabeth Morris, Former President – Scouts Northern Territory

The following members were recognised with OAM - Medal of the Order of Australia:

  • Don Leeson, Fellowship – Scouts Victoria
  • Penelope Becchio, State Commissioner Special Projects - Scouts New South Wales
  • John Ebbott, Former Leader - Scouts New South Wales
  • The late Brian Green, Former Member – Scouts New South Wales
  • Paul Rogers, Former President - Scouts New South Wales
  • Peter Murray, Lord Baden-Powell Society - Scouts Australia
  • Michael Patten, Former Chief Commissioner – Scouts Tasmania
  • Samuel Southall, Former Member – Scouts Western Australia

We’re also extremely proud of our members who were honoured in their local communities. 


  • Neville Cartledge, Hepburn Shire Senior Citizen of the Year 
  • Vanessa Hornby, 1st Trafalgar - Trafalgar Young Citizens of the Year

  • Ella, East Tarago Venturer Unit - Baw Baw Young Citizen of the Year

  • David Searle, Sunraysia District - Irymple Citizen of the Year

  • Caitlin Weppner, 3rd Wodonga Venture Unit, Wodonga Young Citizen of the Year
  • Thane Allen, 1st Churchill Cub Unit - Churchill Young Citizen of the Year
  • Henry Shirrefs, 2nd Hawthorn - Boroondara Youth Citizen of the Year
  • Arthur Fennell, Tatura Senior Citizen of the Year

  • Hannah O'Loghlin, Red Hill and Sorrento Venturer Unit - Mornington Peninsula Young Citizen of the Year

  • Jenny Wapling, Benalla Citizen of the Year

Let us again extend our warmest congratulations and deepest gratitude to these remarkable individuals. Their passion for Scouting and commitment to their communities show the continuous positive impact has also left a lasting impact on countless young people. From inspiring leadership to selfless service, their contributions are a typical example of the very essence of Scouting.

We are immensely proud of everyone as you receive this well-deserved recognition. 

In addition to the Australia Day Honours, many Scouts Victoria members will be recognised by their local councils for their contribution to their communities. As this news hits your local area, please share it with us via email at We will publish an updated list on this page.

Share page

General Enquiry

If you've got a question for Scouts Victoria, shoot us a message here.

Thank you for your enquiry. A Scouts Victoria representative will be in touch with you shortly.
Unable to submit request. Please try again.