Australia Day Honours and Awards

We congratulate the following Scouting members who were honoured with an OAM today for their service to Scouting and community.
  • The late Gordon Dendle, Office Bearer for Geelong Peninsula District and Group Chairman of 1st Leopold where he served for 26 years
  • Alan Wickes, former Scout Leader at 1st Frankston
  • Peter Wicking, former Scout Leader at 2nd Beaumaris Sea Scouts 
  • Brenda De Bes, Honorary Commissioner for ACT Branch
  • Christopher Diener, former Venturer Leader for Scouts ACT
  • Patricia Fortier, NSW Central Coast Gang Show Scout Fellowship Member
  • Jeffery Harrison, Honorary State Commissioner, NSW
  • Dr David Nelson, former volunteer, Scouts WA
  • Ronald Wallace, Region Leader, Brisbane North Region
Kirsty Brown OAM, former Chief Commissioner of Queensland, was recognised with an AM and Sergeant Trevor Blake, former Police Scouter, was awarded the Australian Police Medal.
Also honoured with an AM was Rabbi Mordechai Gutnick, who was recognised for his contributions to the Jewish community and for his role as Spiritual Advisor to Scouting groups in the Doncaster area.

Australia Day Awards
  • Campaspe Shire Young Citizen of the Year, Martyn Currey 1st Echuca

  • Tasmanian Senior Australian of the Year, respected Scout leader, Brian Williams.
    Across more than half a century, Mr Williams, 73, has been a mentor to thousands of youth through Scouts
  • Baw Baw Shire’s young citizen of the year is Charlotte Smithett, a Scout at 1st Drouin

  • Yarra Ranges Council’s young citizen of the year is Ashlee Shotter, a former Cub, Scout and Venturer at 1st Woori Yallock

  • Sergeant Trevor Blake, former Police Scouter, awarded the Australian Police Medal
  • Sue Glenn - Volunteer of the year - Greater Dandenong (ARC - Bays region)
  • Courtney Baker - Lang Lang Citizen of the year
  • 2nd Springvale Scout Group - City of Greater Dandenong Community Group of the Year
  • Livinia Walden - City of Casey Young Citizen of the year
  • Michael Peace - Cardinia Young Citizen of the year
We proudly congratulate all these worthy awardees and gratefully acknowledge their service to Scouting.
In addition to the Australia Day Honours, many Scouts Victoria members will be recognised by their local councils for their contribution to their communities.
As this news hits your local area, please share it with us via email at
We will publish an updated list on this page.
Share page