Congratulations to our Australia Day 2023 award recipients!

Across Australia, a select group of Scouting people were named in the Australia Day 2023 Honours list. We congratulate the following Scouting members who were honoured today for their service to Scouting and the community.

In Victoria we're proud of Gifford Hatfield OAM, having been a Youth Member since the 1940. In 1954 he was instrumental in starting the 11th Box Hill Scout Group (now Box Hill North). Since then he has served as a Leader in all Sections, and continues to this day as Rover Adviser. He has also served as a District Venturer Leader, and as a Rock Climbing instructor.

Giff was awarded the Silver Kangaroo in 2014, and was made a Life Member of Scouts Victoria in 2020.

Greg Davies has been recognised for his outstanding contributions to youth through his involvement in Scouting. He has held numerous positions within the organisation, including Assistant Region Commissioner - Rover Support, Assistant State Commissioner - Rovers, and Rover Adviser. In addition to these roles, he has also been a Member of the Victorian Branch Council, a Former Adviser on the National Youth Council, and a Group Leader and Venture Leader. Throughout his 46-year involvement in Scouting, Greg has provided leadership and support for over 20 National major events, 30 International Scouting events, and numerous other events and projects. He has been a dedicated member of the Scouting Movement since 1976, and is a worthy candidate for the Order of Australia Medal.

and Claire Edmanson has also been recognised for her outstanding contributions to youth through her service as a member of Scouts Victoria. She has held many leadership positions within the organisation, including State Commissioner for Youth Program Review, Assistant Chief Commissioner and Program Support and currently Project Commissioner since 2021. She has also been a member of the Branch Council since 1999, as well as Assistant Region Commissioner for Adult Training and Development. Her dedication to the organisation began as a volunteer in 1970, and we are delighted that her 52 years of service have been recognised with this accolade. Her tireless work has assisted countless young people and we are grateful for her dedication and commitment to our organisation.

The following members were recognised with AM - Member of the Order of Australia:

  • Geraldine Marcia Harwood AM, Scouts Tasmania - Branch Commissioner, Adult Support
  • Dr Sally Torr AM, Leichhardt Scout Group NSW, Former Leader
  • Mr Michael Walsh AM, Leven District TAS – Former Secretary

The following members were recognised with OAM - Medal of the Order of Australia:

  • Mr Giff Hatfield OAM, Box Hill North Scout Group VIC – Rover Advisor
  • Mr Greg Davies OAM, Melbourne Region VIC - Rover Commissioner
  • Mrs Claire Edmanson OAM, Victoria Branch - Project Officer
  • Mrs Margaret Giulieri OAM, 8th Oakleigh Scout Group VIC – Former Group Committee
  • Mr David Wright OAM - McIvor District VIC – Member
  • Mr Paul William Scroope OAM - 1st Beaumaris Sea Scouts VIC – Former Group Leader
  • Mr Lindsay Clarke OAM, Lismore Scout Group NSW – Former Leader
  • Mrs Julie Commins OAM, 1st Turramurra Scout Group NSW – Group Leader
  • Mr Dennis Jarman OAM, Elizabeth Park Scout Group SA – Former Cub Leader
  • Mr Gerald Harwood OAM, Derwent Sea Scout Group TAS - Cub Scout Leader
  • Mr James Hill OAM, Cairns Central District QLD – Former District Scout Leader
  • Lieutenant Colonel Christopher Holcroft RFD (Retd) OAM - Canterbury Vale District Venturer Unit NSW – Venturer Leader
  • Mr Barry Keleher OAM - Darling Downs Region QLD - Assistant Region Commissioner
  • Mrs Sheryl Pitman OAM - 1st Howlong Scout Group NSW – Leader in Charge
  • Mr John Stavert OAM - 1st Berowra Scout Group NSW – Former Rover Advisor
  • Mrs Robyn Twigg OAM - 1st Pymble Scout Group NSW – Former Cub Leader
  • Mr John Ward OAM - 2nd Narrabeen Scout Group NSW – Former President
  • Mr Peter White OAM - Erina Heights Scout Group NSW - President

We’re also extremely proud of our members who were honoured in their local communities. These include:

  • Henry Rotherham - 1st Yackandandah Venturer Unit - Indigo Valley Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • Cameron Barnes - Mal Whyte Rover Unit - Echuca and District Young Citizen of the year and Campaspe Shire Young Citizen of the Year
  • Michael Timms - 4th Horsham Scout Group - Young Citizen of the Year, Horsham
  • Amanda Bodinnar - 1st Paynesville Sea Scouts - Paynesville Citizen of the Year Award
  • Alex Cameron - 1st Myrtleford - Local Young Achiever of the Year - Myrtleford and District

We extend our warmest congratulations to these members for their dedication and contributions to Scouting and the community. Their efforts have undoubtedly made a positive impact on the lives of many young people and the community as a whole. We are proud to have them as part of the Scouting family.

In addition to the Australia Day Honours, many Scouts Victoria members will be recognised by their local councils for their contribution to their communities. As this news hits your local area, please share it with us via email at We will publish an updated list on this page.

Share page

General Enquiry

If you've got a question for Scouts Victoria, shoot us a message here.

Thank you for your enquiry. A Scouts Victoria representative will be in touch with you shortly.
Unable to submit request. Please try again.