What are Outdoor Adventure Skills?

The Outdoor Adventure Skills framework promotes youth members’ exploration of, and progression through key outdoor pursuits. Designed for all ages and abilities, the Outdoor Adventure Skills reinforce what Scouting is well known for and compliments other personal progression opportunities provided by Scouting.

Scouts aren't required to finish any Outdoor Adventure Skills Stages however if they want to achieve the Peak Award in the Section they will need to achieve certain Stages of the Outdoor Adventure Skills. Refer to each Sections Peak Award for more details.

This innovative framework has nine broad category streams with nine developmental stages within each stream, 23 activity streams in total which our youth members are encouraged to explore.

For further information, Outdoor Adventure Skills FAQs and Resources, visit the Outdoor Adventure Skills webpage.

For placement of the Outdoor Adventure Skills badges on the Scout Uniform refer to the Uniform and Badge Placement page of each Section.

Outdoor Adventure Skills - Core Areas

Bushcraft, Bushwalking and Camping are the three Core Outdoor Adventure Skills categories readily available to all Scouts, no matter where they live.

Bushcraft - Stage 4 Streaming: Pioneering, Survival Skills.



Camping (Camp Site ProgramsPatrol Activity Camps)

Outdoor Adventure Skills - Specialist Areas

Aquatics, Alpine, Boating, Cycling, Paddling and Vertical are the six Specialist Areas. Scouts have the opportunity to select which activities they wish to do and may start a new interest in any of these areas at any time in their Scouting journey.

Each of the six Specialist Areas have multiple streams, separating at Stage 4 and/or Stage 7, in order to develop higher-level tailored skills.

The multiple streams include:


  • Stage 4 Steaming: Surf Life-saving, Snorkelling, Surfing.
  • Stage 7 Streaming: SCUBA, Swift Water Rescue.


  • Stage 4 Streaming: Cross Country Skiing, Snowshoeing and Camping, Downhill Skiing, Snowboarding.                   


  • Stage 4 Streaming: Sailing, Windsurfing.


  • Stage 4 Streaming: Cycle Touring, Mountain Biking.


  • Stage 4 Streaming: Canoeing, Kayaking, Sea Kayaking.
  • Stage 7 Streaming: White Water Canoeing, White Water Rafting, White Water Kayaking.







Vertical (Abseiling, Caving, Rock Climbing)


Share page